Search

Skip Navigation|

HAFOD HOUSE DISPLAY

Hafod House

Exhibition number: Displays 56

Thomas Johns (1748-1816) converted some of his friends' ideas about the picturesque into stone and mortar at Hafod where he planted millions of trees to create a modern Eden. His was one of the first houses in Wales to be opened to the public on a formal basis with published opening times and a ticketing system and it became well known after the publication of George Cumberland's book 'An Attempt to Describe Hafod' (1795). He also provided accommodation for visitors in a cottage from 1790 and built the Hafod Arms Inn in 1795 at the Devil's Bridge where the waterfalls became a major visitor attraction.

TOURISM

THOMAS JOHNES (1748-1816)

Next in the Virtual tour of the Museum: PRINTS DISPLAY